Dominican Republic

The Dominican Republic (DR) is on a large island in the Caribbean called Hispaniola, part of the Greater Antilles in the Caribbean.  The western side of the island is made up with the French speaking nation of Haiti and the eastern side (3/4 of the island mass) is made up with the Spanish speaking nation of the Dominican Republic.  The DR is the second largest Caribbean island (after Cuba).

Inhabited by the Tainos since the seventh century,  this isolated Caribbean nation, was discovered by Christopher Columbus in 1492 and became the first permanent European settlement in the Americas, in the capital city of  Santo Domingo. 

Over many years of development, the DR has become a large tourist destination with visitors from all over the world.  The largest tourist area on the island is called Punta Cana and is located on the eastern tip of the island on the Atlantic Ocean.  With over 2 million visitors a year, you will find that Punta Cana has many all-inclusive hotels, restaurants, shopping, excursions and golf courses.

If you would like to learn more about the Dominican Republic’s history visit:



You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.